Skinny-Sized Teacher

A blog about life before and after gastric bypass

Day 1.5 & 2 (Jan 19 & 20, 2012)

on January 23, 2012

January 19 (PM) & January 20, 2012

Thank goodness for text messages. My conception of time was so off after anesthesia. I’m cross referencing my memory with the texts I sent to my mom to make sure I’m right on times.

I didn’t sleep much that night. I had a catheter in, so I didn’t have to get up to pee. I wasn’t in any pain, per say, just a tremendous amount of gas pressure. It actually felt like I had a hot air balloon under my stomach. The RN said that walking would help move the air through my system. For those of you not familiar, in order to do the surgery laproscopically, they fill you up with air to give them room in your abdomen to work. They do suck some of the air out, but it’s up to you to pass the rest out of your system, naturally, through flatulence.

Adding the bloat, I found out I got my period during surgery. Right on time—guess I really wasn’t preggo. Yay!

About 6 pm on the night of surgery, my nurse came to get me out of bed. They gave me two robes to wear so that I wouldn’t expose my behind.  I was a bit dizzy/nauseous on that first walk around the ward, but I soon got my sea legs and tried to walk every hour. The ward was warm and I wasn’t cold while walking.

A nurse practitioner came into check me out and everything was fine. Dr. Papasavas also came into check on me that night.

When I wasn’t walking, I laid in bed trying to watch Disney movies on my Netflix on my Iphone. I couldn’t concentrate. I flipped through some of the magazines I brought, but didn’t read any articles. I just couldn’t concentrate. I dozed on and off.  Played with Facebook. I had an RN and a PCA to take care of me.  The PCAs came around every few hours to check vitals–They started me on Tylenol with some pain meds, and I sweated it out during the night. Nurses came in and out, checking my vitals and giving me shots of Heprin. Sometime in the middle of the night I spiked a fever of 101 and they worried I was developing pneumonia.

I woke up around 5 am the next morning a little bit more clearheaded. I wasn’t allowed to drink—so I kept wetting my mouth with the dental sponge they brought me, and using the Burts Bees Pomegranate lip balm.  I got up to walk as much as possible—the gas pain hurt unbelievably bad.

Around 7 am, my RN removed the catheter which was SUCH a relief. It didn’t hurt to take it out, I just did the Lamaze breaths and as I exhaled she pulled it out. I was given a “hat” for my toilet and instructed that I needed to pee 300 ml (not sure about that unit) each shift (so by 3 pm). Luckily, I didn’t have trouble with that.

Around 8 am, they took me down for my GI scan. Basically, they wanted to test to make sure my pouch wasn’t leaking. I had to do basically the same test as I did before surgery, with much thinner barium. The test came back totally fine, and I was given a lunch tray featuring a bottle of water, a cup of hot tea with Splenda, a cup of crystal light, and a cup of beef broth. As dry as my mouth was, I was terrified of drinking and getting sick. I drank a cup of raspberry crystal light for lunch—and I did it sitting straight up to help it make its way into my stomach.

Deana, a blogger who blogs over at A New Normal  wrote in her blog that she was told to eat sitting up with her feet on the floor to keep her esophagus in line. I wasn’t told that, but I definitely took her advice. Another piece of advice that she gave was that if you have long hair like mine, put it in two braids to avoid bed head. I did and it definitely worked!

My parents and sister arrived around supper time, and we did a few walks together around the hallway. They also brought me a wicked cute teddy bear and some more magazines. More doctors and nurses visited. Around 7pm, the gas pains started to hurt really bad, and I wondered if I had made a wrong choice about having the surgery. What if it hurt this bad forever?I had brought a heating pad with me to help break up the gas pains, but I wasn’t allowed to use it.

Luckily, I talked with a male friend, who I’ll refer to as PA, who is a physician’s assistant at a local hospital. He reiterated that I made this decision carefully, and that it wasn’t a mistake. He’s been wonderful throughout this process—I’m wondering if after I heal more will develop between us. We’ve been casually dating since summer, but our work schedules and distance from each other interfere. Hmm.

At that point, my nurse gave me some pain killers and I slept through the night.  I also passed gas, yay! I was so excited that I texted my mom. lol. The Rns were happy too because flatulence is a sign that your stomach is waking up and everything is working normally!

Leave a Reply

