Skinny-Sized Teacher

A blog about life before and after gastric bypass

Pre-Op Diet

on January 9, 2012

Began my 10-day, pre-op diet this morning.

Starting weight:  239.6

Since I’m 5’2”, my BMI is  43.8                      .

From reading other people’s blogs, I’ve noticed that the pre-op diet differs from surgeon to surgeon. Dr. Papasavas directed me to begin my diet ten days before surgery. Daily, I’m allowed to have 3-4 high protein, low carb shakes; 2 other forms of protein (egg, yogurt, milk, 1 oz of deli meat), 1 c. of vegetables, and as much sugar-free liquid as I can drink, which includes Crystal Light, Diet Snapple, sugar free jello and popsicles, and fat-free broth. The purpose of the pre-op diet is to mentally prepare you for the early stages of the post-op diet. Most importantly, it shrinks the liver so that the surgery can be done safely laproscopically.  Since liver is the site at which most of the sugars get stored, a high protein diet, low carbohydrate and fat diet will result in significant shrinkage of the liver. Because some folks can not stick to this diet, many doctors believe the best way to make the patients comply is placing them on a protein shake diet.

I’m thinner than most folks having gastric bypass so I have not been given a specific amount of weight to lose, but I am hoping to lose at least some weight as a result of this.

I’m already jonesing for a soda–I adore diet ginger ale and Sprite Zero; giving that up is the hardest thing! My doctor said I’m allowed to have coffee with a bit of CoffeeMate. I’m very glad I don’t have to break up with my boyfriend, “Joe,” yet.

Reading through the preop diet, I noticed that I need to do a bowel cleanse the day before, which I don’t remember hearing about at the pre-op doctor’s visit. I’m going to call the nurse and check; if so, I’m going to take January 18 off too. I don’t think it will be a good idea to teach if I need to constantly be running off to the bathroom.

In other news, I am working hard to get my plans done for the two-weeks I’m plan to be out of work. Grad school starts this week, adding more stress to my already busy schedule (Mothers, don’t let your children grow up to be English teachers). I’ll be pulling a few all-nighters, I’m sure, to be prepared.

One response to “Pre-Op Diet

  1. Deana says:

    Aurora, we are very similar in size. I started at my heaviest (in Oct) @ 259 and I am 5’2″. In the hospital I weighed 244. Now, six days post op I am 234. I, also originally planned to have the Lap Band (as you probably read). I only had to do a two day post op diet. I cannot fathom any longer than that. Best of luck to you. I am so glad I found your blog and will be following along cheering for you!

Leave a Reply

