Skinny-Sized Teacher

A blog about life before and after gastric bypass

Introductions

on January 8, 2012

I have no idea how to begin a blog–how do I introduce myself to you–unnamed reader without any particular demographics.  To make you care enough about my story to click “follow.”

The basics: My name is Aurora and I’m a 26-year old Language Arts teacher in New England. Since the end of May, after a pretty traumatic breakup, I’ve been single and focusing on grad school and getting tenure. I’ve pretty much sworn off relationships, which, according to “The Playbook” episode of How I Met Your Mother, means I’m about to meet the One. The jury’s still out on that one–I’ll keep you posted. Besides teaching and being single, I enjoy spending time with my animals, family, and friends.

I’ve been researching gastric bypass since 2010, and saw a Boston-based doctor in early 2011. I started the pre-op testing and plans were delayed due to discovering some medical complications. Thankfully, my wonderful doctors were able to take care of me. Due to insurance reasons, I switched to a Hartford-based surgeon, Dr.  Papasavas, with the Connecticut Surgical Group in Summer 2011, and finished my pre-ops. My surgery is scheduled for January 19, 2011.

I initially investigated LapBand surgery, because Iwasn’t keen on rearranging my anatomy. After the pre-reqs were completed though, it revealed esophogeal motility disorder, which means that my esophagus does not deliver food to my stomach normally. My surgeon felt the motility was not severe, but since my father has the disorder quite badly, I felt that it wasn’t safe to continue with LapBand, since the band can slip. In addition, the International Diabetes Foundation is encouraging those with type 2 Diabetes to consider surgery, since the surgery can increase the hormones (incretin) that stimualte the pancrease to produce insulin. Many patients leave the hospital without needing insulin, even before they lose the weight.    My father was not supportive of the surgery until these studies came out, but after that he was supportive, and even looking into the surgery himself.

Leave a Reply

